I've always had a love/hate relationship with sewing. Logic is just not my thing at all and sewing patterns, especially the ones you find in sewing magazines drive me insane. Just looking at the sea of lines and numbers makes me ill. It is certain that if I start following any sort of sewing directions I will screw up. There hasn't been a single time that I haven't effed up something while sewing. Even if I manage to make it through the sea of pattern lines and actually (after endless hours of cursing the patterns to hell) get the fabric cut and start sewing I suddenly notice little things, like I've sewn the wrong sides of the fabric together, or that the bottom of the shorts was actually supposed to be the top (don't ask... shorts are devious). And if I manage to get through all that, there are always technical difficulties: leaving machine on the zigzag setting, when you need straight stich, running out of yarn two inches before the end of the line, or my personal fave: breaking the needle's tip into fabric and not finding it :D:D:D Now, it's not all hate. Sewing can be fun when everything goes as planned. I think the best thing in machine sewing for me is the speed of getting fabrics stiched together. I just don't get it how people used to sew everything by hand before machines were created. And those outfits weren't exactly tiny either!

The reason for this rant is I've been sewing doll clothes for my thesis lately. The patterns are pretty much the same as for humans, only the size is miniature. For some reason it is much easier for me to think about patterns and all that in the doll size. Don't get me wrong, I've already managed to screw up a few times, but it is just a part of creative process, I guess. ;)